Local Educators selected to participate in STEM Learning Opportunity

NASHVILLE – The Tennessee STEM Innovation Network, a public/private partnership between the Tennessee Department of Education and Battelle Education, announced today the 2020-2021 cohort of the Tennessee Rural STEM Collaborative – a yearlong professional development opportunity for rural educators designed to share promising practices in STEM education, seek solutions to local education challenges, and encourage the development of a targeted STEM solution for each community or school represented. This year, 51 educators representing 32 counties across Tennessee were competitively selected for the Collaborative. 

“All communities, regardless of zip code, possess local assets that can support quality STEM instruction and workforce development initiatives. The Collaborative connects rural educators with community partners and facilitate co-learning about STEM teaching strategies, promoting immediate impact at the local level and collective impact statewide.” said Brandi Stroecker, director of the Tennessee STEM Innovation Network. “The Collaborative this year has been designed to ensure safety and applicability during the COVID-19 pandemic. Educators will convene virtually and explore strategies for engaging students in STEM learning through virtual, hybrid, or in-class models of instruction.”

Within the Collaborative, there are three regional cohorts that will map the STEM resources unique to the educational landscapes in West, Middle and East Tennessee. The Collaborative provides a stipend for teachers to engage with the program and implement a targeted STEM initiative within their own communities. For more information, visittsin.org/tennessee-rural-stem-collaborative

The Tennessee STEM Innovation Network is a public-private collaborative between the Tennessee Department of Education and Battelle Education, emphasizing a “kindergarten through jobs” philosophy by promoting the teaching and learning of STEM education and integrating real-world and hands-on learning in K-12 public schools across Tennessee. Visit: www.TSIN.org

2020-2021 Tennessee Rural STEM Collaborative Cohort

TeacherSchool School District
Kristy PhillipsClinton High SchoolAnderson County 
Amanda McBrideBedford County Learning AcademyBedford County
Marla BelyewBriarwood ElementaryBenton County
Denise GeorgeBradley STEAM AcademyBradley County
Sarah DanielsAvoca Elementary SchoolBristol City Schools
Cathy BryantAvoca Elementary SchoolBristol City Schools
Colette CarrabbaChester County Junior High SchoolChester County
Lori Blanchard Cosby Elementary Cocke County
Thomas TatumStone Memorial High SchoolCumberland County 
Yvonne Barbosa SchlangenCreek Wood High SchoolDickson County 
Vanessa AndersonDyersburg Middle SchoolDyersburg City Schools
Seth ColemanDyersburg High SchoolDyersburg City Schools
Sheri StiltsPine Haven ElementaryFentress County
Jessica GuessNorth Middle SchoolFranklin County
Caterine HeatonDecherd Elem.Franklin County
Kimberly CollinsHuntland SchoolsFranklin County
Rachel Cunningham North Middle School Franklin County 
Heather Lunsford South Middle School Franklin County 
Ashley LongHighland Elementary SchoolGreeneville City Schools
Emily HurstSoddy Daisy Middle SchoolHamilton County
Rachel HortonSt. Clair ElementaryHawkins County 
Martha MowellMt. Carmel Elementary SchoolHawkins County
Tanya FoxGainesboro Elementary School Jackson County
Janet R. NortonDandridge Elementary SchoolJefferson County
Quanta SpearsLakeland Middle Preparatory SchoolLakeland City Schools
Annemarie LamprightSummertown ElementaryLawrence County 
Ryan LewisSouth Pittsburg High SchoolMarion County 
Justin HerodSpring Hill Middle SchoolMaury County 
Dovie MacPhersonJ.E. Woodard Elementary SchoolMaury County 
Aimee ShiresBattle Creek Middle SchoolMaury County 
Michal Seth WoodardMt. Pleasant High SchoolMaury County 
Lisa SlusherBattle Creek Middle SchoolMaury County 
Annette DeGeorgeRandolph Howell Elementary STEM SchoolMaury County 
LeAnn SimmermanJ. E. Woodard ElementaryMaury County
Lesley DavidsonMcKenzie High SchoolMcKenzie Special School District
Susan MurraySelmer Middle SchoolMcNairy County
Kim MullinsBethel Springs ElementaryMcNairy County 
Stacy JonesMcNairy Central High SchoolMcNairy County
Nathan NicholasMilan Middle SchoolMilan Special School District
Justin WoodySequoyah High SchoolMonroe County
Bryan WilliamsonSequoyah High SchoolMonroe County 
Megan HensleyPetros Joyner SchoolMorgan County 
Margie BranstetterPetros Joyner SchoolMorgan County 
Joseph (Andy) ZimmermanSouth Fulton Middle/High SchoolObion County 
Michael ChaffinPrescott South Middle SchoolPutnam County
Sonya HatfieldOliver Springs High SchoolRoane County
Ashley NivensOliver Springs Middle SchoolRoane County 
Britni CarterOliver Springs Middle SchoolRoane County 
Jennifer WilkersonSpringfield High SchoolRobertson County 
Audra Logan Station Camp Elementary Sumner County
Bryan MorganPortland West Middle SchoolSumner County
Ashley WarnementJack Anderson ElementarySumner County  
Carolyn DawsonMount Juliet ElementaryWilson County 

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.