12 qualify for Cookeville council election

By Michelle Price
Special to the UCBJ

COOKEVILLE – The field is now set for one of the most contested Cookeville City Council races in recent history. Twelve candidates submitted their qualifying papers to run for the five seats available in the August 4 election. 

Of the current city council, two are disqualified from running for reelection due to council term limits of two consecutive 4-year terms. The other three council members have filed for reelection.  

Candidates filing to run are:

Ali C. Bagci

Jeremy Michael Bowman

Gene Bressler

Luke Eldridge

Chad Gilbert

Jordan M. Iwanyszyn

Brian Jones

Lynda Marie Loftis-Webb

Mark Miller (Incumbent)

Damon “Dee” Prince

Eric Walker (Incumbent)

Laurin Wheaton (Incumbent)

The UCBJ will soon be featuring a special section with information and bios on candidates. So, check back soon for more details on each one of the candidates.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.