Members appointed to UCHRA director search committee

By Amye Anderson
UCBJ Managing Editor

UPPER CUMBERLAND – The members of the newly-formed search committee, responsible for selecting the next executive director of UCHRA, have been announced. 

The following individuals were appointed by the agency’s policy committee chairman Greg Wilson (Van Buren County Executive): Randy Porter, Putnam County Executive; Ricky Shelton, Cookeville Mayor; Ben Danner, Overton County Executive; Curtis Hayes, Livingston Mayor; Kenneth Carey, Cumberland County Mayor; Michael Nesbitt, Smith County Mayor; Steve Jones, Macon County Mayor; Tim Stribling, DeKalb County Mayor; Johnnie Wheeler, Consumer Representative. 

The group will hold its first meeting early next month and will elect a chairman to lead the committee, as well as draft a list of preferred qualifications to be held by the agency’s executive director.

Luke Collins, the former UCHRA executive director, was fired last week following allegations of misconduct. The results from the investigations into those allegations have yet to be made public. Mark Farley has served as the agency’s interim director since Collins was first placed on paid leave in February and will continue to lead the agency until a permanent replacement is chosen. 

READ: UCHRA board fires Collins

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.