State CPA Society awards $225,000 in scholarships

NASHVILLE – The Educational & Memorial Foundation of the Tennessee Society of CPAs (TSCPA) recently awarded a total of $225,000 in scholarships to 83 students (Upper Cumberland students in bold) attending colleges or universities throughout Tennessee.

The recipients are:

  • Belmont University student Heta Patel of Goodlettsville;
  • Carson-Newman University student Brooke Tipton of Rockwood;
  • Christian Brothers University student Anthony Albonetti of Memphis;
  • Cleveland State Community College student Reedhi Bamnelkar of Cleveland;
  • Freed-Hardeman University student Bethany Stone of Lexington;
  • Lee University student Amy Friedl of Franklin;
  • LeMoyne-Owen College student Siron Muhammad of Memphis;
  • Lincoln Memorial University student Damaris Macon of Ooltewah;
  • Lipscomb University students Bernadette Fajardo of Madison, and Aryn Collier and Sarah King of Nashville;
  • Middle Tennessee State University students Amanda Obara of Bell Buckle, Molly Bell of Brentwood, Kamryn Lightsey of Christiana, Joshua Gile of Franklin, Natalie Massengaleof Hartsville, Samantha Sweat of Henderson, Courtney Ellis, Shelby Hurt, Kathryn Lepp,Tristen Owens, Dennielle Pineda and Samual Shapiro of Murfreesboro, Nhi Tran of Nashville, Charish Short of Rockvale, Elizabeth Miller of Selmer;
  • Rhodes College students Amri McCauley and Shanbria Webster of Memphis;
  • Southern Adventist University student Shawn Lemon of Ooltewah;
  • Tennessee State University student La’Kera Walker of Antioch;
  • Tennessee Technological University students Robert Herbert of Brentwood, Kani Sunil of Clarksville, Zachary Plattner of Joelton, Krishna Patel of Lebanon, Ana Mejia of LoudonKendra Rymer of Morrison, Zebulun Roberts of Rock Island, and Erika Dibrell and Courtney Hunt of Sparta;
  • Trevecca Nazarene University student Mary Foster of Gallatin; University of Memphis students Rachel White of Cordova, Casey Dew of Germantown, Humberto Coronado of Memphis;
  • University of Tennessee at Chattanooga students Julia Henderson of Brentwood, Sarah Ballard, Jacob Dobbs and Richard Guiry, Jr. of Chattanooga, Ethan Howard of Hendersonville, Mandy Huffman of Knoxville, Clay Smith of Maryville, Nealy Walker and Jacob Whitehair of Murfreesboro, and Kaci Jones of Oak Ridge;
  • University of Tennessee at Martin student Christine Aden of Mckenzie;
  • University of Tennessee, Knoxville students Kallie Mullins of Corryton, Brandon Gilliam of Kingsport, Sarah Carcello, Randall Clapp, Adam Fulcher, BrookeRunion and NathanYeo of Knoxville, Madison Moats of Lenoir City, Miranda Clark of Maryville, Madeleine Helton of Mascot,and Christopher Perez of Morristown.

The following students received special acknowledgement, as determined by the TSCPA Scholarship Awards Committee:

Middle Tennessee State University students Logan Dyer and Joaquin Salcedo San Martin of McMinnville, Tennessee Technological University student Nia Buntin of Cookeville, and University of Tennessee, Knoxville student Sheena Qualls of Knoxville were the four statewide recipients of the prestigious King Foundation Scholarship Award.

Middle Tennessee State University student Gina Nguyen of Smyrna received the Paul Royston Scholarship Award given to the top senior accounting student in the state.

Tennessee Technological University student Emma McDonald of Livingston received the TSCPA Maxie O. Patton Scholarship Award, given to the top accounting student at Tennessee Technological University.

University of Tennessee, Knoxville student Reid Parker of Nashville received the Richard L. Townsend Scholarship Award, given to the top accounting student in the University of Tennessee’s master’s program.

University of Tennessee, Knoxville student Reed Graham of Johnson City received the Will J. Pugh, Sr. Scholarship Award, given to a top accounting student at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville who demonstrates outstanding leadership qualities.

University of Memphis student Sara Uttz of Covington received the Robert W. Knapp Scholarship Award, given to the top accounting student in Shelby County.

Middle Tennessee State University student Monica Ambriz Contreras of Brentwood received the Bernie Goldstein Scholarship Award, given to a top non-traditional accounting student attending a college or university in the Middle Tennessee Area.

Belmont University students Katherine David of Franklin and Lucia Clendenin of Brentwood received the Robert Whisenant Scholarship Awards, given to two top undergraduate accounting students at Belmont University.

University of Tennessee, Knoxville student Hannah Hogan of Gallatin received the Calvin and Jean King Scholarship Award, given to a student with a special emphasis on the student’s leadership characteristics and academic achievement.

East Tennessee State University student Alyssa Dingus of Surgoinsville received the TSCPA Appalachian Chapter Scholarship Award, given to the top accounting student in the Appalachian Chapter area.

University of Tennessee at Chattanooga students Sarah Corder of Soddy Daisy received the TSCPA Chattanooga Chapter Scholarship Award, given to the top accounting student from the Chattanooga area.

University of Memphis student Alberto Coronado of Memphis received the TSCPA Memphis Chapter Scholarship Award, given to the top accounting student in the Memphis Chapter area.

University of Tennessee, Knoxville student Logan Binkley of Springfield received the TSCPA Nashville Chapter Scholarship Award, given to a student residing in the Nashville Chapter area.

Union University student Julia Browning of Collierville received the TSCPA West Tennessee Scholarship Award, given to a student attending a West Tennessee Chapter area university or college.

In order to qualify for a TSCPA scholarship, candidates must complete introductory courses in accounting and/or be students majoring in accounting. Scholarship recipients were selected on the basis of academic achievement, professor recommendation, leadership skills and financial need. For more information about TSCPA’s annual scholarship program, visit

About TSCPA: Founded in 1904, the Tennessee Society of Certified Public Accountants is the professional association of CPAs in Tennessee, with more than 10,000 members statewide. Its mission is to enhance the success of members through service, support and advocacy.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.