Eight UC counties in disaster declaration for winter storms

WASHINGTON – Eight Upper Cumberland counties were included in the major disaster declaration for the February severe winter storms announced today by FEMA. Federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of Tennessee to supplement state, tribal and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe winter storms from Feb. 11-19, 2021.

February’s severe winter storms impacted the Upper Cumberland over several days of repeated ice and snow that took down power lines across the region and left some without power for up to five days.

Federal funding is available to state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storms in Bedford, Cannon, Coffee, DeKalb, Fentress, Jackson, Moore, Overton, Pickett, Putnam, Scott, Shelby and Smith counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Myra M. Shird has been named the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected areas. Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.