UC legislators awarded for ‘conservative victories’ [$]

UPPER CUMBERLAND – Nine Tennessee legislators – five House members and four from the Senate – that represent Upper Cumberland constituents have received high marks from the American Conservative Union (ACU) for embracing “conservative principles and policies” during the 2015 Tennessee General Assembly session.

Examples of conservative victories this year, ACU said, include: the one-time purchasing fee for lifetime carry permits, which it says strengthens the Second Amendment right of Tennesseans; legislation requiring informed consent when a pregnancy is terminated, which helps foster a culture that supports life; and ending Common Core curriculum, according to Matt Schlapp, ACU chairman.

Legislators who scored above 80 percent in ACU’s 2015 ratings will receive awards, the group said.

“We hope that they will continue to lead the way for other state legislatures,” added Schlapp.

They include:

House members

  • Kelly Keisling (R-Byrdstown)
  • Mark Pody (R-Lebanon)
  • Judd Matheny (R-Tullahoma)
  • Cameron Sexton (R-Crossville)
  • Ryan Williams (R-Cookeville)


Senate members

  • Paul Bailey (R-Sparta)
  • Mae Beavers (R-Mt. Juliet)
  • Janice Bowling (R-Tullahoma)
  • Ken Yager (R-Kingston)


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.