Those earning undergraduate degrees represent 51 fields of study, and those receiving graduate degrees represent 33 fields of study

Cookeville – Tennessee Tech University will celebrate its spring commencement ceremonies Friday, May 5 in the Hooper Eblen Center. The morning ceremony, which starts at 9 a.m., will include the following colleges and schools: graduate studies, business, engineering, fine arts and interdisciplinary studies.

The afternoon ceremony, which starts at 1 p.m., will include the following colleges: graduate studies, agriculture and human ecology, arts and sciences, education and the Whitson-Hester School of Nursing. More than 1,400 degrees are expected to be awarded to students who came to Tech from 82 counties throughout Tennessee, 19 states and 18 other countries. Those earning undergraduate degrees represent 51 fields of study, and those receiving graduate degrees represent 33 fields of study.

The birth dates of students from the class of 2023 range from 1961 to 2003.

“Tech’s graduation rates have hit a new high, with the six-year rate hitting 60.2% for students who started in fall 2016,” said Tech President Phil Oldham last fall. “This bested last year’s record of 59.9% and demonstrates a continued dedication to graduating students on time.”

Retired professor Holly Stretz will serve as the official macebearer for both ceremonies. Stretz retired from the university’s department of chemical engineering this past fall with 17 years of service to the university. 

During her time at Tech, Stretz was promoted to serve as the interim chair of the department. She received her Bachelor’s in chemistry from Texas A&M University and a Master’s in chemistry from Texas State University. She received her Ph.D. in chemical engineering from the University of Texas.

The spring commencement ceremonies will also feature several pre-recorded addresses from two graduating students, including remarks from Savannah Griffin, student member of the Tennessee Tech board of trustees and Kester Nucum, the 2023 Derryberry Award recipient, as well as remarks by Tech Women’s Head Basketball Coach Kim Rosamond.

Tech will also recognize six students who will be commissioned to serve in the armed forces as second lieutenants: Taylor S. Cadenhead, Jake A. Huner, Justin T. Keith, Hunter M. Storey, Evan A. Wasilewski and Myka C. Winningham.

Cadenhead is also honored as a distinguished military graduate.

To watch the livestream of the commencement ceremonies, visit

Photo courtesy of Tennessee Tech.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.