TTA presents safety awards to Averitt Express

Pictured: Clarksville Truckload driver John Tetreault (left) and Averitt Director of Safety and Compliance John Walton (right) show several awards from the Tennessee Trucking Association convention. Averitt was honored as the TTA’s 2022 Grand Champion, and it also won the First Place Truckload Safety, First Place LTL Safety and Clean Diesel awards.

Cookeville – The Tennessee Trucking Association recently honored Averitt Express for its commitment to safety. Averitt earned the TTA’s 2022 Grand Champion Trophy, as well as first-place accolades for truckload and LTL safety.

The safety awards recognize an organization’s safe-driving record. The TTA measures a carrier’s performance by the number of accidents within a specific mileage category. Averitt’s LTL fleet was honored in the 15,000,001-plus miles category, while its truckload fleet was the winner in the 7,000,001-plus miles category.

The Grand Champion designation is determined by the overall best accident frequency rate of all carriers in Tennessee who entered in the 3,000,001-plus miles category. Averitt’s recognition marked the first time it has earned the Grand Champion award.

“We’re very proud of our commitment to doing things the right way, and we’re humbled by this recognition from the TTA,” said Averitt President Wayne Spain. “These awards are the result of a team effort, and we’re thankful for the efforts of our associates to make it possible.”

Averitt demonstrates its commitment to highway safety in a variety of ways, including:

  • Investing in the latest tractor safety technology
  • Training drivers and dock associates on safety best practices
  • Measuring and reporting key performance indicators
  • Maintaining a world class preventive maintenance program for its fleet
  • Carefully selecting and screening potential hires
  • Recognizing and rewarding associates for outstanding safety performance

To learn more about Averitt’s commitment to safety, visit

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.