COOKEVILLE – Barbara Davis, R.N. was presented with the 30th annual Fred H. Roberson Award on Thursday, June 28 at Cookeville Regional Medical Center’s monthly board of trustees meeting. CRMC CEO Paul Korth made the presentation, citing Davis’s commitment to her career, the betterment of patient care and commending her for the impact she has made in healthcare and the community.   

Davis is a registered nurse who previously served as the director of case management and social services at Cookeville Regional for 15 years. She is currently the director of the Senior Care Unit at Cumberland River Hospital in Celina, Tenn.

She has over 30 years of experience in healthcare. Davis is known as a compassionate visionary who advocates for both patient and community needs. She actively seeks solutions, dedicated till she finds the answer. She has been described as “a voice for the patient when the patient is unable.” While helping patients is paramount in all that she does, she’s also known for protecting the hospital’s reputation, growth and financial interests.

She’s played an instrumental part in the education of a wide range of people, from hospital staff and physicians all the way to nursing home facilities, home health agencies and medical equipment companies. She is highly respected by her peers and those outside of her profession. 

A colleague of hers said, “What impresses me the most about this person is that she truly has a burden for people. For her, her position is not just a job – it is a labor of love. She interacts with patients and their families at probably the most difficult time in their lives, and she does it with empathy, grace and style. In short, she is an example of what every person in healthcare should aspire to be – a caring, competent individual whose sole goal is to improve the lives of those she encounters.”  

Davis has led and served on a number of committees and has been actively involved in several Cookeville Regional Charitable Foundation fundraising efforts, including the Golf Committee, A Woman’s Heart and Pink Gala committees. She served on the triage committee for the Caring Hands Fund. She’s also volunteered with the Cookeville Rescue Mission and Upper Cumberland Hospice.

The Roberson Award is named for Mr. Fred Roberson who served on the hospitals’ Board of Trustees for twenty-seven years.  The award is presented annually to the individual who best exemplifies the same dedicated and loyal service to Cookeville Regional Medical Center and its patients as was demonstrated by Mr. Roberson. 

Previous recipients have been Dr. Thurman Shipley, H.S. Barnes, Dr. J.T. Moore, Jr., Dr. Claude Williams, Eleen Harkins, Jean Davis, Dr. William Francis, Senator Tommy Burks, Dr. William Taylor, Reverend Lexie Freeman, Dr. Alex Case, Dr. Katherine Bertram, the CRMC Auxiliary, Linda Crawford, Dr. Walter Derryberry, Dr. J.T. DeBerry, Dr. Charles Womack, Dr. Opless Walker, Dr. Charles Jordan, Linda Buchanan, Dr. David Henson, Dr. Sullivan Smith, Dr. Jeff Crosier, Dr. Lee Ray Crowe, Dr. Glenn Hall, Dr. James Gray, and Dr. Sam Barnes, and Randy Todd. 

Submit your story ideas to the Upper Cumberland Business Journal! via email.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.