$110,000 in Safety Grants announced for UC counties

Funding to support local law agencies; enhance public safety on area roads.

NASHVILLE — Tennessee House Speaker Cameron Sexton (R-Crossville), State Sen. Paul Bailey (R-Sparta) and State Sen. Janice Bowling (R-Tullahoma) today announced $110,000 in Highway Safety Grants for Cumberland, Putnam and Van Buren Counties.

The funding will promote safety on local roadways, curb instances of drunk driving, and address unlawful traffic behaviors by motorists.

“I appreciate Sen. Bailey, Sen. Bowling, the Tennessee Highway Safety Office and the Department of Safety and Homeland Security for their partnership in securing these significant grant awards,” said Sexton. “These funds will create new resources for our local law agencies as they work to continue efforts strengthening public safety within our communities.”

Local Highway Safety Grant awards include:

  • Crossville Police Department – $20,000 for Alcohol and Impaired Driving Enforcement.
  • Cumberland Co. Sheriff’s Department – $45,000 for Police Traffic Services.
  • Fairfield Glade Police Department – $20,000 for Older Driver Safety.
  • Monterey Police Department – $15,000 for Alcohol and Impaired Driving Enforcement.
  • Spencer Police Department – $5,000 for High Visibility Enforcement.
  • Van Buren County Sheriff’s Department – $5,000 for High Visibility Enforcement.

“These grants are important to the safety of our community, funding a number of necessary positions and programs that keep our roadways safe,” said Bailey. “We are grateful that the Highway Safety Office has recognized a need for these programs in our community and is assisting us in ensuring our citizens are better protected on our roads.”

“These grants will give our local communities additional funds that should help upgrade their efforts to make our roads safer and to protect our citizens from those who drink and drive,” added Bowling.

The grant awards will be disbursed by the Tennessee Highway Safety Office (THSO). The grants are provided to agencies that successfully applied for funding that meet the required data-driven criteria and highway safety standards. Grant applications must be in line with THSO’s mission to reduce traffic crashes, injuries, and fatalities.  

Cameron Sexton is the Speaker of the Tennessee House of Representatives. A former Republican Caucus Chairman, Majority Whip and House Health Committee Chairman, Sexton resides in Crossville. He is in his sixth term serving House District 25, including Cumberland, Putnam and Van Buren counties.

Paul Bailey is the Chair of the Tennessee Senate Commerce and Labor Committee. He is also a member of the Senate Transportation and Safety and the Joint Fiscal Review Committees. Bailey resides in Sparta and represents Tennessee Senate District 15, which includes Cumberland, Jackson, Overton, Bledsoe, Putnam and White counties.

Janice Bowling is the Deputy Speaker of the Tennessee Senate. She is also the 2ndVice-Chair of the Government Operations Committee, Chair of the Joint Education, Health and General Welfare Committee and a member of the Joint Commerce, Labor, Transportation and Agriculture, Energy, Agriculture, Natural Resources and Transportation and Safety Committees. Bowling resides in Tullahoma and represents Coffee, Franklin, Grundy, Marion, Sequatchie, Van Buren and Warren counties.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.