Songwriters competitions to be held across the UC

By Michelle Price
Special to the UCBJ

UPPER CUMBERLAND – The Upper Cumberland is known for its contributions to the music industry and the quality of its songwriters. This weekend songwriters from across the region have the opportunity to compete in the first round of the Second Annual Tennessee Songwriters Week competition. 

U.C. establishments hosting first round competitions include Red Silo Brewing Company in Cookeville, Grinder House Coffee Shop in Crossville, Sutton’s General Store in Granville and a Step Back In Time Shop in Red Boiling Springs. Two songwriters from each competition will advance to the one of the Tennessee Songwriters Week Showcase events held during Tennessee Songwriters Week, Feb. 23-29.

Saturday, Feb. 8 

Cookeville – Red Silo – 10 a.m. – 8 p.m.No charge to attend

No charge to attend

The schedule of songwriters follows:
10:30 a.m. Angela Nelson
11:00 a.m. Ben Higgins
11:30 a.m. Elliot Klein
12:30 p.m. Chris Essex
1:00 p.m. Jerry Austin
1:30 p.m. Justin and Cole
2:00 p.m. Raymond Conley
2:30 p.m. Pat Davis
3:00 p.m. Jeremy Willeby
3:30 p.m. Matt Goedken
4:00 p.m. Dennis Caravello
4:30 p.m. April Crabtree
5:00 p.m. Linda Purs
5:30 p.m. Philip Hall
6:00 p.m. Mathew Whitaker
6:30 p.m. Chad Hancock
7:00 p.m. Anthony Nguyen (with smoky nights)
7:30 p.m. Marcus Whitaker

Crossville – Grinder House  6-10 p.m.

Event is sold out but will be live streamed by WCTE.

The schedule of songwriters follows:
Kaleb Tayse 
Billy Mac
Melissa Ellis
Jeff Lane
Kenneth Cope
Matt Mayberry
Dennis Hill
Eric Zarycki
David Watson
Jamie Adamson
Tracy Tabor
Travis Findley
Blake Robertson
Travis Humphrey
Kendall Idema
Robert Myers
Earl Patton
Justin V. Cecil
Rebecca Daniels
Glen Brown
Tommy Hancock
Stuart Bell
Tommy Glover
Ed Riggs
Mack Reid
Matt Colwell
James Crowley
Cole Kemmer
Nick Caster
Mike Shanks

Red Boiling Springs – Step Back In Time Shop  6-9 p.m. 

Admission is $5

Songwriters registered include:
Jessie Clement
Tyler Wix
Stacy Lawson
Kade Allen
Dale Meador
Karen McCormick
Nancy Spence 
Derik Birdwell
Heather Kempf
Angela Vannasdale
Terri Lawson
Nathan Ray Henderson
Chris Greenwood
Ricky Riggs

Sunday, Feb. 9

Granville – Sutton’s General Store 2-4 p.m.

No charge to attend

Songwriters registered include:
Angie Nelson
Jeremy Warren
Merle Miller
Jackie Heistud
Cathy Wilson
Rob Patton
Jesse Krantz
Jason Goolsby
Madison Greenwood
John Kennedy
John Eason
Tyson Leamon
Britta Gaetjena
Rita Lee
Dale Lee
David Turner
Joe Russell
Tanner Lowhorn

Winning songwriters from each of the qualifying rounds will perform at one of the Tennessee Songwriters Week Showcase events, happening in the following cities:

Puckett’s in Franklin Sunday, Feb. 23, 2020 

Lafayette’s Music Room in Memphis Tuesday, Feb. 25, 2020

The Bijou in Knoxville Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2020

Bessie Smith Cultural Center Thursday, Feb. 27, 2020

Ole Red in Gatlinburg Friday, Feb. 28, 2020

The Down Home in Johnson City Saturday, Feb. 29, 2020

Six total winners (1 from each showcase event) will then perform during the finale at The Bluebird Cafe on Sunday, March 29.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.